Heterocyclic chemistry for therapeutic and PET imaging inovation

Innovation in heterocyclic chemistry and engineering for translational medicine

Team of Professeur Sylvain ROUTIER, Pr. emeritus Jean-Yves MÉROUR, Dr. Frédéric BURON and Dr. Karen PLÉ

 

Research in the Routier group is oriented toward molecular innovation in medicinal chemistry with the ultimate goal being the discovery of drug candidates or diagnostic tools in different pathologies. His group is a member of two LabEx “Laboratoire d’Excellence” IRON and SYNORG. Pr. Routier is the coordinator of the Marine Natural Products Strand in the Cancéropôle grand ouest (Western Canceropole consortium made up of more than 20 groups in chemistry, biology, and clinical studies). He also organizes and coordinates several translational research programs starting from the conception of active molecules, their optimization to pre-clinical and/or clinical trials in therapy and imagery. His research interests stem from the operation of biological systems and the structure of biological mediators as well as from marine natural products and plants.

Research Interests

Figure 1 : Research Interests

From the beginning, the Routier group has dealt with various biological targets in pathologies such as Alzheimer and Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis, diabetes, and above all, cancer.

Different biological targets are addressed through translational projects with academic and industrial partners, from medicinal chemistry to the conception and synthesis of probes for PET imaging. These targets include integrins, orphan receptors, ion channels, and epigenetic transporters or targets. In particular, our group has a recognized expertise in the synthesis and optimization of protein kinase inhibitors involved in cancer or CNS disorders.

(Top) Principle biological targets where our group has a known expertise in the design of new molecules which bind (ligand) or inhibit (antagonist) or reinforce (agonist) their potential in the nano and subnano molar range. (Bottom) Two examples of products that were validated in small animal preclinical trials as anti-cancer agents (kinase inhibitors) or PET imaging molecular probes (alpha7 nicotinic receptors)

 

Figure 2 : (Top) Principle biological targets where our group has a known expertise in the design of new molecules which bind (ligand) or inhibit (antagonist) or reinforce (agonist) their potential in the nano and subnano molar range. (Bottom) Two examples of products that were validated in small animal preclinical trials as anti-cancer agents (kinase inhibitors) or PET imaging molecular probes (α7 nicotinic receptors).

Specialized in heterocyclic and medicinal chemistry, our group combines work in fundamental and applied research. With a focus on rare heterocycles, different synthetic methods have been developed to access and functionalize these structures in order to generate new entities and further explore the available chemical space.  This approach guarantees originality and Intellectual Property (IP) through patents or publications.

The group uses modern synthetic technology such as metal catalyzed coupling reactions (Pd, Au, Ag) as well as more traditional methods: anion chemistry, (pseudo)peptide synthesis, protection and deprotection reactions.

Methodology with different heterocycles: construction and/or functionalization

Figure 3 : Methodology with different heterocycles: construction and/or functionalization

The Routier group has also developed a technological research axis oriented toward reaction activation, originally starting with microwave synthesis. The group has recently invested in a Flow chemistry apparatus. Using this current technology, reaction pathways (aromatic or heteroaromatic chemistry, asymmetric synthesis) can be conceived, innovated or revisited.  This methodology offers our partners (both industrial and academic) an innovative and rapid access to synthetic intermediates in an efficient and selective manner while developing eco-friendly, “green” chemistry. This research which involves organic chemistry, chemical engineering, and industrial partners is carried out in collaboration with Dr. S. Bostyn (ICARE, CNRS) a specialist in chemical engineering.

Flow chemistry apparatus and examples of different reaction developed by the group

Figure 4 : Flow chemistry apparatus and examples of different reaction developed by the group.

Chimie hétérocyclique pour l'innovation en thérapeutique et imagerie TEP

Innovations en Synthèse hétérocyclique pour la médecine translationnelle

Equipe du Professeur Sylvain ROUTIER, du Prf. émérite MÉROUR Jean-Yves, du Dr. Frédéric BURON et du Dr. Karen PLÉ

 

La recherche développée par l’équipe du Pr S. Routier est tournée vers l’innovation moléculaire pour les thérapies, dont le but ultime serait d’accéder à un candidat médicament pour les traitements ou le diagnostic de pathologies. Son équipe est membre de deux labex IRON et SYNORG. Il gère également l’axe valorisation des produits de la mer en cancérologie du Cancéropôle grand ouest (plus de 20 équipes de la chimie, biologie à la clinique). Il gère et organise de nombreux programmes de Médecine translationnelle au sein de projets allant de la conception des molécules, leur optimisation jusqu’aux études précliniques voire clinique en thérapie ou imagerie. Il trouve son inspiration dans le mode de fonctionnement des systèmes biologiques, dans les structures des médiateurs biologiques mais aussi au sein des modèles offerts par la nature (plantes, produits de la mer).

Domaines de recherche

Figure 1 : Domaines de recherche

L’équipe a traité, depuis sa création, divers sujets touchant des cibles biologiques variées et impliquées dans des pathologies telles que la maladie d’Alzheimer, celle de Parkinson, la sclérose en plaque, le diabète, mais aussi et surtout le cancer.

Les cibles biologiques travaillées au travers de projets translationnels académiques ou industriels de chimie médicinale ou la création de sonde  d’imagerie pour la clinique vont des intégrines aux récepteurs orphelins en passant par les canaux ioniques, transporteurs ou cibles épigénétiques. Plus particulièrement le groupe a acquis une expertise reconnue dans la synthèse et l’optimisation de molécules inhibant puissamment les protéines kinases impliquées dans le cancer ou les pathologies du système nerveux central.

En haut les principales cibles biologiques pour lesquelles le groupe a atteint l’expertise dans le design de molécules inédites permettant s’y lier (ligand), les inhiber (antagoniste) ou renforcer leur potentiels (agonistes), dans la gamme du nanomolaire voire en deçà. En bas, deux exemples de produits ayant été validés en préclinique chez le petit animal comma agent anticancéreux (inhibiteurs de kinases) ou sonde pour l’imagerie TEP (récepteurs nicotiniques alpha7)

 

Figure 2 : En haut les principales cibles biologiques pour lesquelles le groupe a atteint l’expertise dans le design de molécules inédites permettant s’y lier (ligand), les inhiber (antagoniste) ou renforcer leur potentiels (agonistes), dans la gamme du nanomolaire voire en deçà. En bas, deux exemples de produits ayant été validés en préclinique chez le petit animal comma agent anticancéreux (inhibiteurs de kinases) ou sonde pour l’imagerie TEP (récepteurs nicotiniques α7).

Spécialiste en chimie hétérocyclique et chimie médicinale, le groupe associe finement ses travaux en recherche fondamentale et les travaux applicatifs. Focalisé sur l’obtention de squelettes hétérocycliques rares, il développe les méthodes permettant de les obtenir mais aussi de les fonctionnaliser afin d’atteindre les niveaux d’originalité et de pointe dans l’exploration de l’espace chimique. Cette approche permet d’atteindre les critères  requis pour une valorisation aisée par voie de brevets ou de publications.

Il utilise ainsi couramment les techniques modernes de la synthèse organique tels que les couplages métallocatalysés (Pd, Au, Ag) mais aussi des réactions plus classiques comme les réactions anioniques, les méthodes (pseudo)peptidiques de protections et déprotections.

Expertise en travaux méthodologiques sur divers hétérocycles : construction et/ou fonctionnalisation

Figure 3 : Expertise en travaux méthodologiques sur divers hétérocycles : construction et/ou fonctionnalisation.

Enfin il a développé un axe plus centré sur la technologie permettant l’activation des réactions. Si le groupe a une expertise reconnue dans les réactions sous irradiation microonde, il a investi dans des appareillages de flow chemistry. Par cette technologie de pointe, Il conçoit innove et revisite ainsi les voies d’accès en chimie aromatique-hétéroaromatique et synthèse asymétrique, offrant ainsi à ses partenaires (industriels ou non), des accès innovants à des intermédiaires de synthèse et ce, de manière rapide, efficace et sélective, tout en prenant en compte les considérations environnementales (procédés éco-efficients, chimie « verte »). Cette thématique qui associe finement la chimie organique, le génie des procédés et le monde industriel est effectuée en étroite collaboration avec le Dr. S. Bostyn (ICARE, CNRS), spécialisé dans le génie des procédés.

Appareil de flux en continu et exemple de réactions développées par l’équipe

Figure 4 : Appareil de flux en continu et exemple de réactions développées par l’équipe.