Glycomimetics

Axe : Organic Synthesis - Glycomolecules: from synthesis to enzymology

Theme : Glycomimetics

Team of Professor Olivier MARTIN, Dr. Estelle GALLIENNE
 

 

TEAM PRESENTATION

Created in 1997, upon the arrival of Prof. Olivier R. Martin from USA, our team is one of four at ICOA which form the research group "Glycomolecules: from synthesis to enzymology". In addition to Prof. Martin, the team is currently composed of two permanent researchers: Estelle Gallienne, assistant professor since 2008 and Cyril Nicolas, research fellow at CNRS since 2010. The team research activities are to develop original methods of organic synthesis, mainly in the field of carbohydrates, applied to the preparation of new molecules of therapeutic interest.

 

INTRODUCTION

As well as amino acids, lipids, and nucleotides, "sugars" are a large group of natural products widely found in living organisms. Those substances play a fundamental role from a nutritional, structural and protective point of view. Other more subtle but equally important functions have also been discovered. Thus oligosaccharides of great complexity, grafted on membrane lipids and proteins "decorate" the cell surface. These structures are involved in recognition mechanisms as fundamental as infection by pathogens, antigen-antibody interactions or the triggering of inflammatory signals.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51LVp-RvLnL.jpgIn this context, an important part of our research, on the border between chemistry and biochemistry, is devoted to developing new strategies of organic synthesis to access quickly and, if possible, in an innovative way to small molecules capable of interfering with the biosynthesis or the biodegradation of these carbohydrate structures.

Among the glycomimetics identified to date, iminosugars form a family of particularly interesting molecules. Indeed, the simple substitution of the endocyclic oxygen of sugars by a nitrogen atom opens the way to remarkable biological properties. Historically known as potent inhibitors of glycosidases, the iminosugars are also used for the inhibition of glycosyltransferases, glycogen phosphorylase, UDP-Galp mutase and more recently of metalloproteinases.

As these enzymes are involved in many fundamental biological processes, such compounds therefore have great potential as therapeutic agents.

 

RESEARCH INTERESTS

  • Therapeutic agents towards lysosomal storage disorders

The lysosomal storage disorders are rare genetic diseases, which result from the dysfunction of one of the lysosomal enzymes; the organelle responsible for the digestion of the organism macromolecules. Chaperone therapy, on which we focus, is an innovative therapeutic approach. It consists in the administration at low concentrations of small inhibitory molecules that stabilize the three dimensional structure of the deficient enzyme, avoid its degradation, and so allow the hydrolysis of accumulated substrate, significantly reducing the symptoms of the disease. In this context, several iminoglycolipids were designed and synthesized in our group and then evaluated by our collaborators biologists as future therapeutic agents, especially as inhibitors and chaperones of b-glucocerebrosidase, the enzyme responsible for Gaucher disease, or of lysosomal galactosidases, such as b-galactocerebrosidase, involved in Krabbe disease.
 

  • Natural glycolipids analogues: molecules with immunomodulatory activity3

Pro-inflammatory cytokines play a key role in inflammatory, autoimmune or allergic diseases. As current treatments have many side effects, there is a real medical need to find new inhibitors of these cytokines. The Phosphatidyl-Inositol-Mannosides (PIM) are natural glycolipids of low molecular weight with interesting anti-inflammatory activities. Various analogs of PIM were therefore synthesized and found to be strong inhibitors of the in vitro and in vivo inflammatory response in a model of pulmonary inflammation.
 

  • Inhibitors of the biosynthesis of mycobacterial cell wall: towards new anti-tuberculosis agents

Faced with the resistance phenomena increasingly observed, the search for new antibiotics specific of the involved pathogenic microorganisms is necessary. And galactose is a sugar that is present in the furanose form only in microorganisms, such as Mycobacterium tuberculosis, which causes tuberculosis. It has indeed been shown that the galactofuranose and the enzymes the substrate of which it is (GlfTs and Galp mutase) are essential for the development and survival of mycobacteria, which makes these biocatalysts very attractive therapeutic targets. The study of these enzymes should therefore lead to critical information and compounds that inhibit the production or incorporation of these galactofuranose units appear as potential antibacterial agents.
 

  • Innovative synthetic methodologies

We have developed a general strategy for the synthesis of nitrogen-containing polyfunctionalized heterocycles built on the Du Bois amination reaction using carbamates or sulfamic esters. The novelty of our approach is based on an iterative strategy of bonds building, in which key functional groups were designed as "activating molecular arms", thereby allowing the successive functionalization of different positions of the nitrogen-containing heterocycle. Another innovative strategy for the synthesis of iminosugars is currently being developed in the laboratory involving organocatalyzed diastereoselective aldol reactions.

Glycomimétiques

Axe : Synthèse Organique - Glycomolécules : de la synthèse à l'enzymologie

Thème : Glycomimétiques

Equipe du Professeur Olivier MARTIN, du Dr. Estelle GALLIENNE et du Dr. Cyril NICOLAS
 

 

PRÉSENTATION DE L’ÉQUIPE

Créée en 1997, lors de l'arrivée du Pr. Olivier R. Martin des États-Unis, notre équipe est l'une des quatre de l'ICOA qui forment l'axe de recherche "Glycomolécules : de la synthèse à l’enzymologie". En plus du Pr. Martin, l'équipe comprend deux chercheurs permanents : Estelle Gallienne, maître de conférences depuis 2008 et Cyril Nicolas, chargé de recherches au CNRS depuis 2010. Les activités de recherche de l'équipe consistent à développer des méthodes de synthèse organique originales, principalement dans le domaine des glucides, appliquées à la préparation de nouvelles molécules d’intérêt thérapeutique.

 

INTRODUCTION

Au même titre que les acides aminés, les lipides et les nucléotides, les "sucres" constituent un groupe de produits naturels très répandus chez les êtres vivants. Ces substances y jouent un rôle fondamental tant d’un point de vue nutritif que structural et protecteur. D'autres fonctions beaucoup plus subtiles mais tout aussi importantes ont également été découvertes. Ainsi des oligosaccharides de grande complexité, greffés sur des lipides et protéines membranaires "ornent" la surface des cellules. Ces structures sont impliquées dans des mécanismes de reconnaissance aussi fondamentaux que l'infection par des agents pathogènes, les interactions antigène-anticorps ou le déclenchement de signaux inflammatoires.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51LVp-RvLnL.jpgDans ce contexte, une partie importante de nos travaux de recherche, située à la frontière entre chimie et biochimie, est consacrée au développement de nouvelles stratégies de synthèse organique afin d’accéder rapidement et de manière innovante, à de petites molécules capables d'interférer avec la biosynthèse ou la biodégradation de ces structures glucidiques.

Parmi toute la panoplie de glycomimétiques reportée à ce jour, les iminosucres forment une famille de molécules particulièrement intéressantes. En effet, la simple substitution de l'atome d’oxygène endocyclique des sucres par un atome d’azote ouvre la voie à des propriétés biologiques remarquables. Historiquement connus en tant qu’inhibiteurs puissants des glycosidases, les iminosucres sont aussi utilisés pour l’inhibition de glycosyltransférases, de glycogène phosphorylases, de l’UDP-Galp mutase et plus récemment de métalloprotéinases.

Ces enzymes étant impliquées dans de nombreux processus biologiques fondamentaux, de tels composés possèdent donc un immense potentiel comme agents thérapeutiques.

 

THÉMATIQUES DE RECHERCHE

  • Agents thérapeutiques contre les maladies lysosomales

Les maladies lysosomales sont des maladies génétiques rares, qui résultent d’un dysfonctionnement d’une des enzymes du lysosome; l’organite responsable de la digestion des macromolécules de l’organisme. La thérapie chaperon, sur laquelle nous concentrons nos efforts, est une approche thérapeutique innovante. Elle consiste à administrer à de faibles concentrations de petites molécules inhibitrices capables de stabiliser la structure tridimensionnelle de l’enzyme déficiente, d’éviter son élimination, et ainsi de permettre l’hydrolyse du substrat accumulé, réduisant nettement les symptômes de la maladie. Dans cette optique, plusieurs iminoglycolipides ont été conçus et préparés au sein de l’équipe et ensuite évalués par nos collaborateurs biologistes comme futurs agents thérapeutiques, notamment comme inhibiteurs ou chaperons de la b-glucocérébrosidase, responsable de la maladie de Gaucher, ou de galactosidases lysosomales, telle que la b-galactocérébrosidase, impliquée dans la maladie de Krabbe.
 

  • Analogues de glycolipides naturels : molécules à activité immunomodulatrice

Les cytokines pro-inflammatoires jouent un rôle clé dans les maladies inflammatoires, autoimmunes ou allergiques. Les traitements actuels ayant de nombreux effets secondaires, il existe un réel besoin médical pour trouver de nouveaux inhibiteurs de ces cytokines. Les Phosphatidyl-Inositol-Mannosides (PIM) sont des glycolipides naturels de faible poids moléculaire possédant des activités anti-inflammatoires intéressantes. Différents analogues de PIM ont donc été synthétisés et se sont révélés être de forts inhibiteurs de la réponse inflammatoire in vitro et in vivo dans un modèle d'inflammation pulmonaire.
 

  • Inhibiteurs de la biosynthèse de la paroi mycobactérienne : vers de nouveaux agents anti-tuberculeux

Devant les phénomènes de résistance de plus en plus observés, la recherche de nouveaux antibiotiques spécifiques des microorganismes pathogènes impliqués est nécessaire. Or le galactose est un sucre qui n’est présent sous forme furanose que chez les microorganismes, tels que Mycobacterium tuberculosis, responsable de la tuberculose. Il a en effet été démontré que le galactofuranose et les enzymes dont il est le substrat (GlfTs et Galp mutase) sont essentiels au développement et à la survie de la mycobactérie, ce qui fait de ces biocatalyseurs des cibles thérapeutiques très attractives. L'étude de ces enzymes devrait par conséquent conduire à des informations primordiales et les composés inhibant la fabrication ou l'incorporation de ces unités galactofuranoses apparaissent comme de potentiels agents antibactériens.
 

  • Méthodologies de synthèse innovantes

Nous avons développé une stratégie générale de synthèse d’hétérocycles azotés polyfonctionnalisés en nous appuyant sur la réaction d’amination de Du Bois utilisant des carbamates ou des esters sulfamiques. L’originalité de notre approche est fondée sur une stratégie itérative de construction de liaisons, au cours de laquelle des groupements fonctionnels clés ont été conçus comme des "bras moléculaires activateurs", permettant ainsi de fonctionnaliser successivement diverses positions de l’hétérocycle azoté. Une autre stratégie innovante de synthèse d’iminosucres est actuellement en cours de développement au laboratoire, impliquant des réactions d’aldolisation diastéréosélectives organocatalysées.