Glycochemistry and glycosaminoglycans

Axis : Organic Synthesis - Glycomolecules: from synthesis to enzymology

Theme : Understanding the mechanism of biosynthesis of proteoglycans by chemical synthesis of well-defined oligosaccharides

Team of Dr. Chrystel LOPIN-BON and emeritus Dr. Jean-Claude Jacquinet

 

For many years, our group is interested in proteoglycans (PGs), a family of complex macromolecules characterized by the presence of glycosaminoglycan (GAG) chains covalently linked to a core protein through a linkage region. PGs (Heparin, heparin sulfate, chondroitin and dermatan sulfate, hyaluronic acid) play important roles in a plethora of biological processes, such as cell growth and proliferation, embryonic development and coagulation cascade. They are also involved in the pathogenesis of several diseases including arthropathies, Alzheimer’s and cancer diseases.

The biosynthetic molecular mechanism involved in the three major steps of the GAGs biosynthesis ie initiation of the linkage region, orientation towards chondroitin sulfate (CS) or Heparan sulfate (HS) and polymerization of the GAGs chains remain obscure.

In this context, the research area of our group is focused on the design and synthesis of complex oligosaccharides in order to study the mecanism of the enzymes involved in the biosynthesis of proteoglycans.

Current collaborations : Team of  Dr. Sylvie Fournel-Gigleux (CNRS-UHP, University of Lorraine), team of Pr. Christelle Breton (CERMAV, Grenoble), team of Pr. Xavier Pannecoucke (UMR CNRS 6014, IRCOF, University of Rouen), Glycodiag company (Orléans)

 

Research program and fonding :

  • ANR JCJC 2013 « GAG-sorting »
  • LABEX Synorg
  • ANR BLAN 2013 « meca-GT »
  • Project Centre-FEDER « glycosign » with Glycodiag company
  • Project Conseil régional de Lorraine « Glyco-Fluo »
  • ANR BLAN 2008 « GAGNetwork »
  • ANR BLAN 2008 « Glycocart »

 

RECENT WORKS

Glycochimie et glycosaminoglycanes

Axe : Synthèse Organique - Glycomolécules : de la synthèse à l'enzymologie

Thème : Etude des glycosyltransférases impliquées dans la biosynthèse des protéoglycanes par synthèse chimique d’oligosaccharides structuralement définis

Equipe du Dr. Chrystel LOPIN-BON et du Dr. émérite Jean-Claude JACQUINET

 

Notre groupe s’intéresse depuis plusieurs années aux protéoglycanes (PGs), macromolécules complexes caractérisées par la présence de chaînes de glycosaminoglycanes (GAG) liées de façon covalente à une protéine porteuse via une zone de liaison. Les PGs (héparine, héparane sulfate, chondroitines et dermatane sulfate, acide hyaluronique) jouent un rôle important dans de nombreux processus biologiques tels que la croissance et la prolifération cellulaires, le développement embryonnaire et la cascade de coagulation. Ils sont aussi impliqués dans la pathogénèse de plusieurs maladies incluant l’arthrose, la maladie d’Alzheimer et le cancer.

Les voies de biosynthèse des PGs sont encore mal connues et de nombreuses interrogations demeurent à différents niveaux clés de la biosynthèse que sont l’initiation de l’amorce tétrasaccharidique, l’orientation vers la formation de Chondroitine Sulfate (CS) ou de Heparane Sulafte (HS) mais également la polymérisation des chaînes de GAGs.

Dans ce contexte, les thématiques de recherche de notre équipe sont axées sur la conception et la synthèse d’oligosaccharides complexes afin d’étudier le mécanisme des différentes enzymes impliquées dans la biosynthèse des protéoglycanes.

Collaborations en cours : Equipe du Dr. Sylvie Fournel-Gigleux (CNRS-UHP, Université de Lorraine), Equipe du Pr. Christelle Breton (CERMAV, Grenoble), Equipe du Pr. Xavier Pannecoucke (UMR CNRS 6014, IRCOF, Université de Rouen), Société Glycodiag (Orléans)

Programme de recherche et contrats :

  • ANR JCJC 2013 « GAG-sorting »
  • Collaboration dans le cadre du LABEX Synorg
  • ANR BLAN 2013 « meca-GT »
  • Projet Centre-FEDER « glycosign » avec la société Glycodiag
  • Projet Conseil régional de Lorraine « Glyco-Fluo »
  • ANR BLAN 2008 « GAGNetwork »
  • ANR BLAN 2008 « Glycocart »

 

TRAVAUX RECENTS