Chemistry of nucleosides and heterocycles – Infectious disease research

Chemistry of nucleosides and heterocycles – Infectious disease research

Team of Professor Luigi A AGROFOGLIO (PREX), Dr Patrick FAVETTA (MCU), Dr Cyril NICOLAS (CR) et Dr Vincent ROY (MCU-HDR)

 

General presentation

Created in 1995 from scratch, our team currently consists of Prof. Luigi Agrofoglio, Dr. Vincent Roy, Associate Professor and Dr. Patrick Favetta, Assistant Professor. Team Research activities are positioned primarily in the field of infectious diseases by developing a deliberately interdisciplinary research based on strong expertise in organic and analytical chemistry, our areas of expertise. More recently, Dr. Si-Si-Ahmed Nafa, hepatologist, hospital of Orléans has joined our team as an associate researcher (10% of the time) to develop a translational health research especially for liver pathologies. This is a direct bridge between discovery research and clinical research, which aims to spread to basic research of new observations on the nature and progression of various diseases while stimulating new therapeutic and methodological innovations. The team is a member of LabEx SYNORG and the Federation of Research in Infectious Diseases of the Central Region.

Our main research activities are to develop original methods of organic synthesis, historically in the field of nucleosides and more recently in that of heterocyclic compounds, to design new polymeric carriers or cargo and to develop methods for trace analysis of metabolites of interest for therapeutic monitoring. We also have a growing interest towards transducing signals that play a key role in the immune response and provide a therapeutic target in infectious diseases. As part of a network of national and international collaborations (chemistry, cell biology, virology, crystallography, … ), priority is given to major pathogens to human health (bacteria, viruses and parasites).

Thus the main research areas are: 

  • Organic and medicinal chemistry
  • Chemistry of nucleosides and heterocycles
  • Prodrugs
  • New polymeric devices for Drug Delivery System
  • Diagnostic tools

 

Copyright : Kluwer Academic Publishers Copyright 2006 Imprint: IHL Press
 About Wiley      About Us     Subjects     Careers     Events     Locations     Brands     Investor Relations     Resources     Press Room  Resources      Authors     Instructors     Students     Librarians     Societies     Booksellers  Customer Support      Privacy Policy     Site Map     Contact Us     Help  Copyright © 2000-2015 by John Wiley & Sons, Inc., or related companies Copyright © 2014 Future Science Ltd Copyright © 2008 Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA

Chimie des nucléosides et hétérocycles - Recherche en infectiologie

Chimie des Nucléosides et Hétérocycles - Recherche en Infectiologie

Equipe des Professeur Luigi A AGROFOGLIO (PREX), Dr Vincent ROY (MCU-HDR) et Dr Patrick FAVETTA (MCU)

 

Présentation de l'équipe

Créée en 1995 ex nihilo, notre équipe se compose actuellement du Prof Luigi Agrofoglio, du Dr Vincent Roy, Maître de Conférences – HDR et du Dr Patrick Favetta, Maître de Conférences.  Les activités de recherche de l’équipe se positionnent prioritairement dans le domaine de l’infectiologie en développant une recherche volontairement interdisciplinaire sur la base d’une forte expertise en chimie organique et analytique, nos domaines de compétences.  Plus récemment, le Dr Si-Nafa Si-Ahmed, hépatologue, praticien hospitalier au CHR d’Orléans a rejoint notre équipe comme chercheur associé (10% de son temps) pour développer une recherche translationnelle en santé et plus particulièrement en hépathologie.  Ceci constitue une passerelle directe entre recherche exploratoire et recherche clinique, permettant dissémination vers la recherche fondamentale d’observations nouvelles sur la nature et la progression de diverses pathologies stimulant alors de nouvelles innovations thérapeutiques ou méthodologiques. L’équipe est membre du LabEx SYNORG et de la Fédération de Recherche en Infectiologie de la Région Centre.

Les activités de recherche de l'équipe consistent alors à développer des méthodes de synthèse organique originales, historiquement dans le domaine des nucléosides puis plus récemment dans celui de composés hétérocycliques, à développer de nouveaux vecteurs ou cargos polymériques et à développer des méthodes pour l’analyse de traces de métabolites d’intérêt pour le suivi thérapeutique.  Nous avons aussi un intérêt croissant vers des signaux de transduction qui jouent un rôle clef dans la réponse immune et constituent une cible thérapeutique en infectiologie. Dans le cadre d’un réseau de collaborations nationales et internationales (chimie, biologie cellulaire, virologie, structuralistes), la priorité est donnée aux pathogènes majeurs pour la santé humaine (bactéries, virus et parasites). 

Ainsi les principaux domaines de recherche sont : 

  • Chimie organique et médicinale
  • Chimie des nucléosides et  hétérocycles
  • Approches prodrogues
  • Nouveaux cargos polymériques
  • Outils diagnostics
  • Bio-analyse de métabolites d’intérêt – biomarqueur

 

Copyright : Kluwer Academic Publishers Copyright 2006 Imprint: IHL Press
 About Wiley      About Us     Subjects     Careers     Events     Locations     Brands     Investor Relations     Resources     Press Room  Resources      Authors     Instructors     Students     Librarians     Societies     Booksellers  Customer Support      Privacy Policy     Site Map     Contact Us     Help  Copyright © 2000-2015 by John Wiley & Sons, Inc., or related companies Copyright © 2014 Future Science Ltd Copyright © 2008 Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA